Do we deserve love?

Some interpretations of the phrase “I deserve love.”

  1. I should not be lonely. It would be right if someone cared for me.
  2. Because I have shown my self worthy, I should have someone who keeps my best interest in mind.
  3. My hair is all jelled up and I took her to a nice restaurant. She should kiss me.
  4. Love is not something to be earned, so I should just have it.
  5. I deserve to feel all warm and fuzzy inside.
  6. I just have love because I am a good person.

If you love those who love you, what reward have you? Do not even the tax-gatherers do the same? And if you greet your brothers only, what do you do more than others? Do not even the Gentiles do the same? Matthew 5:46–47

Lets interact for a moment with the famous love chapter.

Love is patient and kind;
Who will be patient and kind with us?
love does not envy or boast;
Who will relate with us – envy and boast free?
it is not arrogant or rude.
Who will be humble and treat us respectfully?
It does not insist on its own way;
Who will act in unselfish ways?
it is not irritable or resentful;
Who will put up with you?
it does not rejoice at wrongdoing,
Who will put childish ways behind?
but rejoices with the truth.
Who will rejoice when you are right even if they themselves are wrong?
Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.
Yea. Who? You?

What in you deserves love from God?
Why should you love others?

Love is a big deal.
Go love someone.

We don’t deserve love.

Ultimately, we know there is something very wrong in us. Don’t we? We have missed the mark so many times. Why would anyone love us? The chorus to the song “nobody loves me, everybody hates me, guess I’ll go eat worms, fat ones skinny ones, big ones little ones, guess i’ll go it worms” should be this:

but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. Romans 5:8

To know the depths of our undeservedness will increase our gratitude towards the incredible measure of God’s unchanging love. While we throw pity parties, God is good. While we are unjust, God is just. He loves us, not because we are good, but rather because he is good, and a giver of love, AND a lover of goodness, and therefore, he has children of wrath.

among whom we all once lived in the passions of our flesh, carrying out the desires of the body and the mind, and were by nature children of wrath, like the rest of mankind.
Ephesians 2:3

This post could go one. I hope I gave you some things to think about.

nat.

About Nat

I am a vagabond just travelling through, a witness to indestructible life and defeated death.
This entry was posted in for the gals, for the guys and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Do we deserve love?

  1. Ρενή says:

    To learn to love isn’t it easier to first try to love the ones that love you as opposed to your enemies, and first try to love fellow humans before being capable of loving God?

  2. Joel says:

    “Love is a big deal.
    Go love someone.”

    Holy smokes! I think I will

    • Nat says:

      Notice how I skipped from “Why should you love others?” to “Go love someone.”
      Totally throwing out the rules. Like it?

Leave a Reply

